Board Of Directors

The Board of Directors is constituted in two ways. Officers are elected at a Biennial Convention held every two years and community representatives are elected by their various communities, also every two years. The most recent Biennial Convention took place in Halifax, November 2016.

The Board of Directors is made up of officers (who collectively form the management committee), Community Representatives, Chairs of Standing Committees, Members-at-Large (who may be appointed by the President or elected at the Biennial Convention), and the Executive Director (ex-officio). The Board meets four times per year, either in person or via conference call.

Management Committee


Michael Argand

1st Vice-President

Marilyn Kaufman

2nd Vice-President

Howard Conter


Jeff Webber


Adam Conter

Past President

Shulamith Medjuck

Community Representatives

Cape Breton, NS

Shayna Strong

Havura – St. John’s, NL

Katherine Side

Beth El – St. John’s NL

Barbara Grandy


Ernest Schleichkorn


Aytan Kranat


Nancy Cohen

Saint John

Susan Isaacs-Lubin & Joe Arditti

Chairs of Standing Committees

Atlantic Jewish Foundation Chair

Mark Rosen

Atlantic Jewish Foundation Vice-Chair

Victor Goldberg
Camp Kadimah Committee Co-Chair

Michael Pink


Jon Goldberg

Aviva Rubin-Schneider

Jennifer Jacobson

Nana Shteinberg

Legal Council: Derek Brett